General Assembly 2015-2018

The General Assembly is the legislative body of the EORTC. Policies, proposals, and strategies are discussed and approved by the General Assembly. The General Assembly delegates specific functions to the Board, Committees, or appointed persons.

The EORTC Network is organized into groups of scientists and/or clinicians, each with a specific area of interest in cancer research. These groups conduct translational research and/or clinical trials on all types of cancers using a multidisciplinary approach. The effective voting members of the General assembly are the President, the past three Presidents, each Group Chair, the Task Force Chairs, each of the Committee Chairs, and a representative from each of the top 15 accruing institutions. The General Assembly meets at least once a year and elects a new EORTC Board once every three years.

Effective voting members

Acting President: R. Stupp, Zurich (CH)

Past Presidents (last three): JY. Blay, Lyon (FR), M. Piccart, Brussels (BE), A.M.M. Eggermont, Villejuif (FR)

EORTC Groups Chairs

  • Brain Tumor: M. Weller, Zurich (CH)
  • Breast Cancer: F. Cardoso, Lisbon (PT)
  • Children’s Leukemia: P. Rohrlich, Nice (FR)
  • Gastrointestinal Tract Cancer: M. Ducreux, Villejuif (FR)
  • Genito-Urinary Cancers: S. Gillessen, St Gallen (CH)
  • Gynecological Cancer: P. Ottevanger, Nijmegen (NL)
  • Head and Neck Cancer: V. Grégoire, Brussels (BE)
  • Imaging: Y. Liu, (Chair ad interim), Brussels (BE)
  • Infectious Diseases: P. Donnelly, Nijmegen (NL)
  • Leukemia: F. Baron, Liège (BE)
  • Lung Cancer: B. Besse, Villejuif (FR)
  • Lymphoma: M. Hutchings, Copenhagen (DK)
  • Melanoma: C. Robert, Villejuif (FR)
  • PathoBiology: J. Martens, Rotterdam (NL)
  • Pharmacology and Molecular Mechanisms Group: E. Raymond, Paris (FR)
  • Quality of Life: L. van De Poll-Franse, Eindhoven (NL)
  • Radiation Oncology: W. Budach, Düsseldorf (DE)
  • Soft Tissue and Bone Sarcoma: A. Gronchi, Milan (IT)

EORTC Task Forces Chairs

  • Cancer in the Elderly: A. Luciani, Milan (IT)
  • Cutaneous Lymphoma: P. Quaglino, Turin (IT)
  • Endocrine Tumors: M. Schlumberger, Villejuif (FR)

EORTC Committees / Divisions Chairs

  • Clinical Research Division: B. Tombal, Brussels (BE)
  • Translational Research Division: C. Dittrich, Vienna (AT)
  • Membership Committee: M. Grønvold, Copenhagen (DK)
  • New Drug Advisory Committee: JP. Bizzari, New York (US)
  • Protocol Review Committee: F. Shepherd, Toronto (CA)
  • Quality Assurance Committee: L. Licitra, Milan (IT)
  • Translational Research Advisory Committee: S. Tejpar, Leuven (BE)
  • Scientific Audit Committee: E. Eisenhauer, Kingston (CA) as of 2017

Representatives from the 15 top Academic Recruiting Institutions

  • U.Z. Leuven, Leuven (BE): P. Schöffski
  • Erasmus MC, Rotterdam (NL): S. Sleijfer
  • Institut Gustave Roussy, Villejuif (FR): M. Ducreux
  • Hôpitaux Universitaires Bordet-Erasme, Brussels (BE): A. Awada
  • CHRU de Lille, Lille (FR): F. Mazingue
  • The Christie NHS Foundation Trust, Manchester (UK): C. Faivre-Finn
  • Universitaetsklinikum Heidelberg, Heidelberg (DE): M. Platten
  • Cliniques Universitaires Saint-Luc, Brussels (BE): JP. Machiels
  • Radboud University Medical Center Nijmegen, Nijmegen (NL): C. van Herpen
  • Ospedale Bellaria, Bologna (IT): A. Brandes
  • Royal Marsden Hospital, London (UK): W. van der Graaf
  • Institut Catala d’Oncologia, L’Hospitalet – Hospital Duran i Reynals (ES): R. Salazar
  • Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois, Lausanne (CH): D. Wagner
  • CHU de Lyon, Lyon (FR): The institution declined.
  • Universitair Ziekenhuis Gent, Gent (BE): Y. Benoit

General assembly effective non-voting members

Board Members

Vice-President: V. Grégoire, Brussels (BE)
Secretary General: P. Schöffski, Leuven (BE)
Treasurer: M. van den Bent, Rotterdam (NL)
Members: S. Evrard, Bordeaux (FR), W. van der Graaf, London (UK)

Other Effective Members

  • Director General, EORTC: D. Lacombe, Brussels (BE)
  • Director Special Projects, EORTC: F. Meunier, Brussels (BE)
  • Chairman, EORTC Cancer Research Fund: D. du Monceau, Brussels (BE)
  • Director, EORTC Cancer Research Fund: V. Agnew, London (UK)
  • Editor-in-Chief, European Journal of Cancer: A.M.M. Eggermont, Villejuif (FR)
  • EJC Liaison Officer: J.C. Horiot, Genolier (CH)

Past Presidents (other than the last 3)

  • A.T. van Oosterom, BE (2000-2003)
  • JC. Horiot, FR (1997-2000)
  • G. McVie, UK (1994-1997)
  • E. van der Schueren, BE (1991 – 1994)
  • L. Denis, BE (1988-1991)
  • U. Veronesi, IT (1985-1988)
  • C. G. Schmidt, DE (1981 – 1984)
  • L. G. Latja, UK (1979 – 1981)
  • H. Tagnon, BE (1975 – 1978)
  • D. W. van Bekkum, NL (1969-1975)
  • S. Garattini, IT (1965-1968)
  • G. Mathé, FR (1962 – 1965)

Find us

Avenue Emmanuel Mounier, 83/11
Brussels 1200

Contact us

Follow us